Sheikh Saud Ali Al Thani, former first Vice President of FIBA and President of FIBA Asia, was unanimously elected as the 14th FIBA President on August 23, 2023, during the elective XXII FIBA Congress in Manila, Philippines.

Sheikh Saud Ali Al Thani served four terms as the head of FIBA Asia, one of FIBA’s most vivid and varied zones in terms of cultures, languages and regions.

He is a former President of the Qatar Basketball Federation and has also served as Secretary General and First Vice President of the Qatar Olympic Committee.

Prior to being FIBA Asia President, Sheikh Saud Ali Al Thani had served FIBA Asia as one of its Vice Presidents, having had a stint as a member of the Zone Board earlier.

He served on the FIBA Central Board as a member between 2010 and 2019 and as the First Vice President of FIBA from 2019 to 2023.

Upon his appointment as FIBA President, Sheikh Saud Ali Al Thani said: "It is a great honor to take over this responsibility: for me, for my country of Qatar, and for our continent of Asia. I now represent the interests of all 212 National Federations across all five Regions. Basketball is a global sport and this is our most important strength. FIBA will help everyone to contribute to our mission: to make basketball the most popular sports community.”

Sheikh Saud Ali Al Thani will serve as FIBA President for the current term of 2023 to 2027. 

  • Hamane Niang (MLI) - President 2019-2023 


    Horacio Muratore (ARG) - President 2014-2019



    Yvan Mainini (FRA) - President 2010-2014

    Robert Elphinston (AUS) - President 2006-2010

    Carl Men-Ky Ching (HKG) - President 2002-2006

    Abdoulaye Seye Moreau (SEN) - President 1998-2002

    George E. Killian (USA) - President 1990-1998

    Robert Busnel (FRA) - President 1984-1990

    Gonzalo G. Puyat II (PHI) - President 1976-1984

    Abdel Moneim Wahby (EGY) - President 1968-1976

    Antonio dos Reis Carneiro (BRA) - President 1960-1968

    Willard N. Greim (USA) - President 1948-1960

    Léon Bouffard (SUI) - President 1932-1948