1960: Manila (PHI) hosts the first Asian Basketball Championship.

1963: The Asian Basketball Confederation (ABC) Constitution & Bye Laws finalized during the ABC Men’s Championship in Taipei.

1965: Seoul (KOR) hosts the first ABC Championship for Women

1970: Seoul (KOR) hosts the first ABC U18 Championship for Men and Women

1981: Hong Kong hosts the first ABC Champions Cup for club teams.

1999: ABC membership swells to 41 members

2002: With the One Family concept Asian Basketball Confederation (ABC) renamed as FIBA Asia

2004: Taipei City (TPE) hosts the first FIBA Asia Cup (then known as FIBA Asia Stankovic Cup)

2009: Johor Bahru (MAS) and Pune (India) host the first FIBA Asia U16 Championship and first FIBA Asia U16 Championship for Women respectively.

2014: With the addition of Timor-Leste, FIBA Asia's membership stands at 45