Hall of Fame Logo

FIBA Hall of Fame

For those who made the game

Hall of Famers

8 Founding Federations Federations (Switzerland)
Born on June 18, 1932, in Geneve.

Enshrined as a contributor in the FIBA Hall of Fame on March 01, 2007.


FIBA was founded on 18th June 1932 in Geneve by 8 national basketball federations. On that same date the first by-laws of the International Basketball Federation and a unified set of playing rules were approved. The founding document was signed by the following representatives of the 8 national federations:

  • Attilio PONISIO (Argentina)
  • Simeon MAVROSKOUFIS (Greece)
  • Count Giorgio ASINARI DI SAN MARZANO (Italy)
  • Joseph SHADEIKO (Latvia)
  • Henry BRANDT (Portugal)
  • D.D. TEICA (Romania)
  • Léon BOUFFARD (Switzerland)
  • Ladilslav KAPUCIAN (Czechoslovakia)