to read

FIBA U17 Women's Basketball World Cup 2024 field set

MIES (Switzerland) - The 16-team field for the FIBA U17 Women's Basketball World Cup 2024 has been confirmed following the conclusion of all U16 Continental Cups which were played through the summer.

The qualified teams are:

Africa: Mali, Egypt
Americas: Mexico (Hosts), USA, Canada, Argentina, Puerto Rico
Asia: Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Chinese Taipei
Europe: France, Spain, Italy, Finland, Croatia

The FIBA U17 Women's Basketball World Cup 2024 is scheduled to take place in Mexico from July 13-21, 2024. It is the first time Mexico have been awarded host of a FIBA world-level event. This edition of the competition will feature five countries who did not take part in the previous edition in 2022. It will be the first participation for Chinese Taipei, Croatia, Finland, and Puerto Rico. Italy are making a return to the stage.

Five-time champions USA won the U16 Women's Americas Championship 2023 with a 79-59 title game win over Canada. Argentina and Puerto Rico joined USA and Canada in the Semi-Finals and as qualified teams for the U17 Women's World Cup.

U17 Women's World Cup 2016 champions Australia broke the hearts of Japan in a third straight Final clash between the two teams in the U16 Women's Asian Championship, 80-74. Joining these two teams at the U17 Women's World Cup will be New Zealand and debutants Chinese Taipei.

Mali continued to exert their dominance over the U16 Women's African Championship 2023, beating Egypt 57-56 for an eighth straight title in as many editions of the competition. Both teams had qualified for the U17 Women's World Cup by making it to the Final of the tournament.

France won the U16 Women's European Championship 2023 over Spain, 67-63, making it their second consecutive title in the competition and fifth overall. They are joined by Italy, Finland, and Croatia to complete the cast of teams at the U17 Women's World Cup.