EuroLeague Women

EuroLeague Women is the premier women’s club competition in Europe and one of the most prestigious in the women’s game.
Attracting the biggest stars on the planet, it continues to serve up a conveyor belt of women’s basketball legends, with heavyweights such as Lauren Jackson, Maria Stepanova, Ann Wauters, Ticha Penicheiro, Hana Horakova and Amaya Valdemoro having all featured down the years.
Meanwhile Diana Taurasi is still lighting it up on a regular basis - alongside some of the newest stars of the women’s global game.
Players such as USA national team dunkster Brittney Griner are taking the baton and becoming firm favourites with fans.
Running for almost six decades in various guises, the competition was first established in 1958-59, as the inaugural women’s club competition on the continent.
Although Slavia Sofia of Bulgaria were crowned maiden champions, it was TTT Riga who dominated by winning an eye-bulging 18 titles, with their last coming in 1982. Much of their unprecedented success was fuelled by the brilliance of FIBA Hall of Fame entrant, Uljana Semjonova.
AS Vicenza enjoyed four consecutive titles in the mid 1980’s and after the competition was changed to EuroLeague Women in 1996, Sparta&K M.R Vidnoje became the first club to repeat that feat in the ‘modern era’.
The Russian side won four titles between 2007 and 2010, with many arguing that they assembled some of the best rosters that women’s club basketball had ever seen, with Jackson and Taurasi teaming up with other big-hitters such as Tina Thompson and Sue Bird.
EuroLeague Women is also  known for its exciting climax to the season, and Final Four remains one of the most eagerly anticipated dates in the women’s basketball calendar.

There was also briefly a Final Eight format for three seasons between 2012-2014.

In recent times, this illustrious competition has shown its magical capacity to intrigue and surprise in a big way – as well as underlining just how tough it is to finish top of the pile.
Not least because there have been six different clubs on the honours board since 2010 – with a couple of Finals also delivering some exhilarating and memorable victories for underdogs such as HalconAvenida in 2011 and ZVVZ USK Prague in 2015.

For more information and results of the 2015/2016 season click here.