FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022

The FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup, known from 1953 to 2014 as the FIBA World Championship for Women, is the biggest international women's basketball competition. Every four years, the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup brings together the best teams from across FIBA's regions - Africa, Americas, Asia-Oceania and Europe.

The 19th edition of FIBA's flagship women's event will take place over 10 days across September and October 2022, with the host country to be announced in March 2020.  


September/October 2022

Host Country:

To be announced in March 2020 


Coming into effect in November 2019, the new FIBA Competition System sets out the road to all of FIBA's main women's competitions over a four-year cycle: the Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament, the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup and the FIBA Women's Continental Cups. FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022 Pre-Qualifying Tournaments will be held in each region in November 2021, to qualify for one of the four global FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022 Qualifying Tournaments in February 2022. More information about the Qualifiers will be available soon. 


12 National Teams from around the world 


38 games to be played across 10 days