Follow FIBA on Facebook

to read

Draw results in for 2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship

EDMONTON (2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship) - The draw for the 2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship took place at Edmonton's City Hall on Tuesday night.

The results of the draw are as follows:
Group A: Cuba, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, ChileCanada
Group B: Argentina, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, EcuadorBrazil

The first phase of the tournament will be played in a round robin format, with every team taking on its four (4) opponents in its respective group. The top two (2) teams from each group will qualify for the Semi-Finals. The first-placed team from Group A will face the second-placed team from Group B and vice-versa. The winners of the two Semi-Finals will do battle for the title in the Final, while the losers of the Semi-Finals will go face to face in the Third-Place Game.

The 2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship will be played from 9-16 August at the Saville Community Sports Centre (SCSC), in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

The tournament is a qualifier for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

"We're extremely proud to be hosting this international event with our partners City of Edmonton, Province of Alberta, and Sport Canada," said Michele O'Keefe, Executive Director of Canada Basketball.

"It's an incredible opportunity for our national team to compete for an Olympic berth on home soil.

"It also provides a platform to foster alignment within our national structure, working with Basketball Alberta, the Saville Centre and the University of Alberta, to support and celebrate our women's national team."

It is the second time that Canada hosts the FIBA Americas Women's Championship. The country staged the 1995 edition of the event in Hamilton, Ontario in 1995 where Canada took the gold.