27 June, 2019
07 July
Press Release
to read

FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 Draw completed

BELGRADE (FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019) – The groups for FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 have been confirmed following the Draw Ceremony in Belgrade's City Hall on Wednesday.

The ceremony was attended by FIBA Europe President Turgay Demirel and FIBA Executive Director Europe Kamil Novak, as well as Latvian Basketball Association President Valdis Voins, Serbian Basketball Federation President Predrag Danilovic and Serbia's Minister of Youth and Sports Vanja Udovicic, who addressed the guests and welcomed them to their respective countries for the flagship event.

The co-hosting nations were further represented by former internationals Anete Jekabsone-Zogota and Natasa Kovacevic, who had the responsibility of drawing the 16 participating teams into four groups of four teams each.

Latvia and Serbia had the right to choose a partner federation to play in their respective country, albeit in opposite groups. Latvia selected the team of Sweden, while Serbia will host Slovenia.

The groups are as follows:

Groups A and B will be played in the Latvian capital Riga, while Groups C and D will be staged in Serbian cities Nis and Zrenjanin, respectively. The Final Phase will take place in the Serbian capital Belgrade.

The teams and fans will be welcomed by official mascots Pick and Roll, who were selected via a public voting and were officially presented in the flesh during Wednesday's ceremony.

FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 will tip off on June 27, with the action concluding on July 7.


About FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019
FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 marks the 37th edition of the continental showpiece event, and will see 16 teams fight for the coveted title. The event is set to take place from June 27 to July 7, and will be co-hosted by Latvia and Serbia.
For further information, visit the official website or follow FIBA Women's EuroBasket on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.