25 August
10 September, 2023

How to Qualify

Qualification for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 follows the FIBA Men's National Team Competition System, which sets out the road to all of FIBA's main men's competitions.

Following its successful implementation in the lead-up to the last edition of FIBA's flagship event in 2019, the same principles have been applied to continue to ensure regular and competitive national team games for fans from all around the world to experience.

The Qualifiers format for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 will remain unchanged, with six windows over a 15-month period across the four regions of Africa, Americas, Asia (including Oceania) and Europe.

The Qualifiers will take place from November 2021 to February 2023 with 80 national teams competing for a spot in the World Cup. The first window of qualification will be played from November 22 - 30, 2021.

1st Window: November 22 - 30, 2021
2nd Window: February 21 - March 1, 2022
3rd Window: June 27 - July 5, 2022
4th Window: August 22 - 30, 2022
5th Window: November 7 - 15, 2022
6th Window: February 20 - 28, 2023

The road to the 2023 World Cup in Indonesia, Japan and the Philippines began in February 2020 with the start of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 European Pre-Qualifiers, which will qualify eight teams for the European Qualifiers.

Set to follow later in 2020, the FIBA Basketball World Cup Americas Pre-Qualifiers will qualify four teams to the Americas Qualifiers.