01 - 18
September 2022
to read

Sergio Scariolo's 12 FIBA EuroBasket 2022 champions

BERLIN (Germany) - Sergio Scariolo was still wet from his players storming the post-game press conference and dousing him and FIBA EuroBasket 2022 MVP Willy Hernangomez with water. He also had just taken his celebratory photo with the trophy.

FIBA talked to the Spain national team coach one more time before celebrating with his team to give his thoughts on each of his 12 players who won the country their fourth EuroBasket crown.

Here are the 12 Spanish players who won the EuroBasket 2022 - in the words of Coach Scariolo.

#2 - Lorenzo Brown

"Our leader on the floor"

#4 Jaime Pradilla

"Our baby"

#5 Rudy Fernandez

"Our big captain"

#6 Xabi Lopez-Arostegui

"Our best defender"

#7 Jaime Fernandez

"(Big smile) Our starting shooting guard"

#8 Dario Brizuela

"Our microwave off the bench"

#9 Alberto Diaz

"He's the man of this championship"

#11 Sebastian Saiz

"Fantastic kid, very good player"

#14 Willy Hernangomez


#16 Usman Garuba

"He's the future"

#41 Juancho Hernangomez

"The talent"

#44 Joel Parra

"Our hope"