Follow FIBA on Facebook

19 - 25
June 2016
Panama City will host 2016 Centrobasket Championship
to read

Panama City will host 2016 Centrobasket Championship

PANAMA CITY (2016 Centrobasket Championship) - The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) and the Central American and Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CONCENCABA) have confirmed that the 2016 edition of the Centrobasket Championship will be hosted by Panama City, Panama.

The competition will be played in the Roberto "Manos de Piedra" Duran coliseum from June 20-26.

Antigua, Bahamas, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and host Panama will participate in the event that qualifies the top five teams to the Americas Division A of the New FIBA Competition System as of 2017.

"Panama is one of the mainstays of the Central American and Caribbean sub-region and it brings us great joy to announce it as the home of our 2016 Centrobasket Championship. Their history in the competition is undeniable, having won four gold medals including going back to back in 1967 and 1969. This year marks the 10th anniversary of the last occasion in which the country hosted the event, so it fitting that we are back here in this historical basketball city for what is sure to be an exciting 2016 championship," said CONCENCABA President, Mr Ruperto Herrera.

The Centrobasket Championship has been staged on 23 occasions to date. It was first held in 1965 in Mexico City, with the host winning the gold medal. In 2014, the event took place in Tepic, Nayarit, Mexico, where the home team won the gold medal with an undefeated record.

Puerto Rico is the country with the most Centrobasket medals (23), followed by Cuba (13) and this year's hosts Panama (12).

Go to fibaamericas.com for the most complete coverage of the 2016 Centrobasket Championship.