Follow FIBA on Facebook

19 - 25
June 2016
Draw Results in for 2016 Centrobasket Championship
to read

Draw results in for 2016 Centrobasket Championship

PANAMA CITY (Centrobasket 2016) - The Official Draw of the 2016 Centrobasket Championship was held this afternoon at the Hotel Panama in Panama City. The tournament will be played in the Roberto Duran Arena from 20-26 June.

The 10 national teams from the Central America and the Caribbean region were divided into two groups of five teams each to be played in a round robin format.

The groups were drawn as follows:

Group A: Puerto Rico, Nicaragua, Antigua, Panama, Cuba.
Group B: Mexico, Costa Rica, Bahamas, Virgin Islands, Dominican Republic.

The top two teams from each group advance to Semifinal Phase where winners will play for the gold medal of the championship. The losing teams will play for third place.

After the conclusion of the Group Phase, teams in third place of each group will play for fifth place. The top five teams in the 2016 Centrobasket Championship will automatically qualify for the Division A of the 2019 FIBA Basketball Worls Cup qualifiers ​​and for the 2017 FIBA ​​AmeriCup.

In addition, the fourth place teams of each group in the Group Phase will play for seventh place. The top seven teams in the 2016 Centrobasket Championship will qualify for the 2018 Central American and Caribbean Games.

Panama has hosted the competition on two previous occasions, 1977 and 2006, having won the gold medal in the latter.

Panama has participated in 21 of the 24 editions of the Centrobasket Championship that had its inaugural competition in 1965. Puerto Rico is the country with the most medals in the history of the competition with 22, followed by Cuba with 14 and Panama with 12, including 4 gold medals in its history (1967, 1969, 1981 and 2006).

The 2016 Centrobasket Championship will be played from June 20-26 at the Roberto Duran Arena in Panama City, Panama.