05 - 07
August 2017

Dunk Contest

If you want to see the content, you need to accept (Targeting Cookies)


Rounds: Dunkers have 75 seconds and 3 attempts per round to complete a dunk. An attempt means the dunker had the intention to dunk and he or the ball touched the rim and/or the backstop unit. The only exception to the 75-second-rule is the third round of the final where there is no time limit. The 75 seconds start running once the dunker's name is called up. The first successful dunk is considered the valid one. A dunk is considered successful if the ball does not leave the ring in an upward vertical direction after it has left the dunker's hand. The dunks are marked (0, 5-10) by each one of the 3 members of the jury.

Tie-breaker: In case of a tie, the tied players dunk again and the jury takes a majority decision.

Qualification: Four dunkers compete by alphabetical order during 2 rounds on Day 1. The dunker with the highest scores advance to the final.

 Dunker 1st 2nd Total
Bruno Gonçalves 25 25 50
Dawin Mazur 22 23 45
Sergey Mosur 23 22 45
Gediminas Zitlinskas 27 27 54

The top player from the qualification and two guest dunkers, compete during 2 rounds on Day 2, with the scores starting from zero (order determined by alphabetical order). The 2 players with the highest scores advance to the final.

Dunker 1st 2nd Total
"Smoove" Krivenko  24 24 
Joel Henry  23 28  51 
Gediminas Zitlinskas  27 25  52


Final: The 2 finalists compete during 3 rounds just after the Semi-Final, with the scores starting from zero and the dunker with the higher score in the semi-final going second.

Dunker 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Joel Henry 25 25 30 80
Gediminas Zitlinskas 30 28   88

Prizes: The winner gets 2,000USD, the runner-up and third-place dunkers win 500USD in prize money.