09 - 17
July 2022


The draw ceremony for the FIBA U17 Women's Basketball World Cup 2022 will take place on Tuesday, March 22, 2022 in Hungary.

The 16 teams participating in the sixth edition of the FIBA U17 Women's Basketball World Cup are: 

Host country: Hungary
Africa: Egypt, Mali
Americas: USA, Canada, Mexico, Argentina
Asia & Oceania*: 4 teams qualified via FIBA U16 Women's Asian Championship 2022
Europe: France, Germany, Slovenia, Spain, Serbia*

* Asia & Oceania teams will be confirmed after the FIBA U16 Women’s Asian Championship taking place from 24 to 30 June 2022


  • The participating teams have been distributed in four pots based on the quality and geographical principles with a maximum of 2 European Teams to be drawn in the same group.

Pot 1:  USA, Canada, France, Hungary

Pot 2: Germany, Slovenia, Spain, Serbia*

Pot 3: Asia 1, Asia 2, Asia 3, Asia 4**

Pot 4: Mexico, Argentina, Mali, Egypt

*Following FIBA's recent decision on Russian teams, the draw will feature a European team with the "?". FIBA will determine in due course which team from the FIBA U16 Women's European Challenger 2021 will participate in the FIBA U17 Women's Basketball World Cup 2022.
Update as of 19/05/2022: The replacement team is Serbia, second in Group B of the FIBA U16 Women's European Challenger 2021 and only second team of any group that did not qualify (qualification in that group was given to the host Hungary who finished third).

**The number 1, 2, 3 and 4 corresponding to the classification of each team at the end of the FIBA U16 Women's Asia Championship

  • By the draw, the teams from each pot will be distributed in four groups and at the same time they will be assigned the competition numbers.
  • Teams from the same continent/region should be equally distributed across the groups. 
  • The straight draw will be applied, except in the case of the pot 4 where the teams from Americas cannot be drawn in the groups which already have the team form that continent.