23 June, 2016
03 July


The FIBA U17 World Championship is where the stars of tomorrow are born.

In 2016, the competition will take place in Zaragoza, Spain from 23 June-3 July, in conjunction with the FIBA U17 Women's World Championship, as part of a youth basketball festival.

The 16 teams from across FIBA's five regions that will compete in the tournament are:

  • Host country: Spain
  • Africa: Egypt, Mali
  • Americas: Argentina, Canada, Dominican Republic, USA
  • Asia: China, Chinese Taipei, Korea
  • Europe: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, France, Lithuania, Turkey 
  • Oceania: Australia

The three editions of the tournament to date have brought about the emergence of a number of leading international players. Click here to read all about them.