23 June, 2016
03 July

Competition System

Group Phase (23-26 June)
The sixteen (16) participating teams are divided into four (4) groups (A, B, C, and D) of four (4) teams each. Each team will play against all other teams in its own group (a total of 3 games for each team). Rest days: Friday 24 June for teams in Groups C and D; Saturday 25 June for teams in Groups A and B; Monday 27 June for all teams/groups.

Final Phase (28 June-3 July)
All teams qualify for the Round of 16, where they will cross between Groups A and B and C and D (A1 v B4, A2 v B3, etc.). The winners of the Round of 16 games advance to the Quarter-Finals, while the losers move on to the Classification Games for Places 9-16. Rest days: Wednesday 29 June for Round of 16 winners; Friday 1 July for teams playing Classification 9-16; Saturday 2 July for teams playing Classification 5-8, Third-Place Game and Final.

All teams compete until the last day of the Championship.