26 July, 2021
08 August

How to qualify

With regular and competitive tournaments scheduled throughout the year as part of the Women's National Team Competition System 2019+, qualification for the Olympic Games tipped off in November 2019.

National teams participated in FIBA Women's Olympic Pre-Qualifying Tournaments in three regions – Africa, Americas, Asia (including Oceania) – to qualify for the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2020, taking place in February.

The national teams of Mozambique and Nigeria claimed the two spots reserved for Africa, the Americas tournaments saw Brazil, Canada, Puerto Rico and the United States advance, while Australia, China, Japan and Korea progressed from Asia-Oceania.

In Europe, six teams secured FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments berths directly via their FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 results with the six top-ranked teams confirming their spots.

These teams are Spain, France, Serbia, Great Britain, Sweden and Belgium.

The 16 teams participating in the FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments were split into four groups of four teams, with the top three teams from each group set to advance to Tokyo 2020 Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament. 

Both the USA, current gold medalists, and Japan, the hosts, will play in the qualification tournaments but are guaranteed Tokyo 2020 berth regardless of their results.