18 - 26
July 2015
Press Release
to read

PR N°5 - Chinese Taipei completes field for 2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship

MIES, Switzerland (2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship) - FIBA confirmed on Monday that Chinese Taipei is the third team from Asia that will compete at the 2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship.

As a result of this, the 16-team field for this summer's event in Chekhov (Moscow Region), Russia from 18-26 July is now complete.

The top three teams from the 2014 FIBA Asia U18 Women's Championship - China, Japan and Korea - automatically qualified for the tournament. However, as the Japanese Basketball Federation (JBA) is currently serving a suspension, its national team is unable to participate.

Chinese Taipei, who finished fourth at the event in Amman, Jordan, returns to the FIBA U19 Women's World Championship for the first time since 2011. They came in 11th at the tournament held in Puerto Montt and Puerto Varas, Chile.

Group A: 1. Netherlands; 2. Russia; 3. Chinese Taipei; 4. Argentina.
Group B: 1. China; 2. Spain; 3. USA; 4. Egypt.
Group C: 1. Canada; 2. Belgium; 3. France; 4. Mali.
Group D: 1. Korea; 2. Australia; 3. Serbia; 4. Brazil.

Go to www.fiba.basketball/u19women for all the latest on the 2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship.


About FIBA

FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 215 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.