02 October, 2023
24 April, 2024
11 Ryan Luther (MBBSK), 10 Berkay Sinirlioglu (MBBSK), 1 Trevon Duval (MBBSK), 19 Ege Arar (MBBSK)
to read

Bahcesehir, Manisa clinch top spot; Oradea, Sporting win big to advance

MUNICH (Germany) - Bahcesehir College, Manisa BBSK and BG Gottingen all confirmed their spots in the Second Round as group winners on Wednesday as the Regular Season came to an end.

In a tense finale, the 16 places in the next round were finalized with the 10 group winners joined by the six best ranked runners-up.

Key Storylines

- Turkish delight as Manisa and Bahcesehir advance as group winners;
- BG Gottingen get the job done on the road;
- Oradea hand Legia first loss to advance in style.

In a winner takes all game in Group E, Manisa BBSK claimed top spot with a 75-66 win over FC Porto - who were made to wait on their confirmed place. Pako Cruz delivered on a big night as he led the winners with 16 points. 

Another of the Turkish sides Bahcesehir College also sealed their place into the Second Round in style with a comprehensive 103-68 win over KK Mornar - Barsko zlato. Tyler Cavanaugh and Can Mutaf both had 15 points as the hosts led from start to finish with their lead peaking at 42 points.

Meanwhile, ERA Nymburk still qualified as one of the best runners up from Group D after beating BC Sabah 97-89 thanks to a double-double of 17 points and 10 rebounds from Sukhmail Mathon.

CSM CSU Oradea also advanced as runners up from Group J by beating the previously unbeaten Legia Warszawa 93-74. However, the Romanian outfit had to recover from a poor first quarter, where they trailed 33-21 to get the win as Kris Richard paced the winners with 24 points. Their Polish counterparts had already gone through as group winners. 

BG Gottingen secured their place as winners of Group I thanks to a convincing 102-69 win on the road to Keravnos BC. Zach Ensminger led five visitors in double figures for scoring with 19 points on 6-for-7 shooting.

Gottingen's success meant that Itelyum Varese fell to second place, but they still advanced as one of the best runners up with a 94-81 win over BC TSU Tbilisi in Georgia. Olivier Hanlan went for 22 points, 7 rebounds and 8 assists to lead Varese to victory and a spot in the Second Round.

Despite losing 76-68 to BC Trepca, BCM Gravelines Dunkerque advance as one of the best runners up from Group H. The result confirmed ZZ Leiden as group winners.

Sporting CP saved their season in spectacular fashion as they advanced behind an 90-72 triumph over Group A winners Balkan Botevgrad. Their margin of victory was enough to climb into the six best ranked runners-up.

On Tuesday, Jonava CBet qualified as winners of Group C despite an 86-81 loss at the hands of Rostock Seawolves, who had an agonizing wait to miss out. BC Kalev/Cramo had beaten Casademont Zaragoza 78-71 on the road to keep their hopes alive, but were another of the four runners-up to come up short.

Last year's champions Anwil Wloclawek were also eliminated alongside fellow Polish side PGE Spojnia Stargard. The rankings of the runners-up can be found, here.


Efficiency: 33 – Taveion Hollingsworth (Petrolina AEK)
30 – Nike Sibande (Kataja Basket)
18 – Urald King (KB Peja)
10 – Erick Neal (CSM CSU Oradea)
7 – Rati Andronikashvili (BC TSU Tbilisi)
3 – Willie Cauley-Stein (Itelyum Varese)

Wednesday, November 22

Group A: Sporting CP 90-72 Balkan Botevgrad
Group B:
Anwil Wloclawek 84-71 BC CSU Sibiu, Caledonia Gladiators 59-78 Surne Bilbao Basket
Group C:
Karhu Basket 80-85 Petrolina AEK
Group D:
Sabah BC 89-97 ERA Nymburk, Bahcesehir College 103-68 KK Mornar – Barsko zlato
Group E: Manisa BBSK 75-66 FC Porto, Norrkoping Dolphins 82-89 Bakken Bears
Group G: BC Trepca 76-68 BCM Gravelines Dunkerque
Group H: Niners Chemnitz 88-61 Heroes Den Bosch, KB Peja 87-91 PGE Spojna Stargard
Group I: BC TSU Tbilisi 81-94 Itelyum Varese, Keravnos BC 69-102 BG Gottingen
Group J: Kataja Basket 92-83 Patrioti Levice, CSM CSU Oradea 93-74 Legia Warszawa

Tuesday, November 21

Group C: Rostock Seawolves 86-81 Jonava CBet
Group F: Casademont Zaragoza 71-78 BC Kalev/Cramo