01 - 09
July 2023
to read

All you need to know: FIBA U18 Women's European Championship 2023

KONYA (Turkey) - The FIBA U18 Women's European Championship is one of 16 youth events that will take place across the summer of 2023.

The tournament will take place in Konya, Turkey from July 1-9, 2023.

Who is participating?

A total of 16 teams will compete for the title in Division A. They have been split into four groups of four for the Group Phase as follows:

Group A: Italy, Lithuania, Belgium, Portugal
Group B: France, Hungary, Poland, Turkey
Group C: Spain, Latvia, Israel, Serbia
Group D: Germany, Czech Republic, Finland, Slovenia

What is the schedule?

The Group Phase will take place across the opening three days of the tournament with teams seeded for the Round of 16 stage based on their group position. The competition will continue in the form of the bracket until the Final on July 9 with Classification games also determining each of the 16 positions.

The three teams that finish classified in 14th, 15th and 16th place will be relegated to Division B next summer.

Check out the full schedule, here.

Who were the winners in 2022?

Lithuania were crowned champions in last year's tournament after beating Spain 78-75 in a thrilling Final in Heraklion, Greece. Juste Jocyte finished with 28 points, 9 rebounds and 7 assists, while Elena Buenavida Estevez scored 36 points in a losing effort for Spain.


Meanwhile, Slovenia took the Division B crown in 2022 with victory over Portugal in Sofia, Bulgaria with both finalists earning promotion alongside third-placed Serbia. The three teams ascend to Division A in place of relegated trio Greece, Sweden and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Former MVPs

Juste Jocyte took the top honor in 2022 with averages of 19.1 points, 7.1 rebounds and 6.9 assists per game to join the long list of established names as tournament MVP.

The previous five winners are as follows:

2022: Juste Jocyte (LTU)
2019: Ilaria Panzera (ITA)
2018: Nyara Sabally (GER)
2017: Billie Massey (BEL)
2016: Alexia Chartereau (FRA)

There are several other notable names to have claimed the tournament MVP award including a string of current senior stars in the women's game. Emma Messeeman collected the accolade in 2011 with Spanish duo Angela Salvadores and Leticia Romero also former MVP winners alongside France guard Olivia Epoupa.

Roll of honor

Lithuania claimed their second title in the competition history last year as they became the eighth country to lift the trophy for a second time. The most successful side are Soviet Union as 11-time champions, while Spain - pictured above in 2015 - and Russia both have five titles.

Position Team 🥇 🥈 🥉 Total
1. Soviet Union 11 2 1 14
2.  Spain 5 9 2 16
3. Russia 5 2 4 11

The full list of medalists can be found, here.

How to watch?

All the action will be available to watch live on the FIBA YouTube channel - and can also be accessed via the respective game pages on the website.

Want more action?

The best way to keep up to date for all of the action is via the official tournament website as well as following NextGenHoops across social media - on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Don't forget to check out the action from the FIBA U18 Women's European Championship 2023, Division B and FIBA U18 Women's European Championship 2023, Division C tournaments.