09 October, 2018
14 April, 2019
Press Release
to read

UMMC Ekaterinburg crowned SuperCup Women champions for record third time

EKATERINBURG (SuperCup Women) – UMMC Ekaterinburg wrote history on Wednesday night by becoming the first team to win the SuperCup Women title three times.

The reigning EuroLeague Women champions made an early statement in the season by defeating 2018 EuroCup Women winners Galatasaray, 79-40.  

It is the third triumph for the Russian juggernauts, having won the prestigious trophy in 2013 and 2016.

The hosts jumped out to an early 20-4 lead, and while Galatasaray managed to recover in the second quarter to reduce the deficit to 38-30 at half-time, there was no stopping UMMC in the second half.

UMMC’s stars combined for 9-of-14 shooting from three-point range, to give their opponents a defensive headache. It was a night to forget for Galatasaray, as they equally struggled on the offensive end, going a meager 16-of-66 from the field. 

Last season’s EuroLeague Women top scorer Kayla McBride led the way for her new club with 18 points, while Alba Torrens and Courtney Vandersloot chipped in with remarkable all-round performances.

Torrens contributed 13 points, 6 rebounds and 4 assists, while Vandersloot added 11 points, 6 assists and 4 rebounds.  

Victoria Macaulay and Moriah Jefferson were the only Galatasaray players in double figures, scoring 13 and 10 points, respectively.


About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fiba, instagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.