05 October, 2022
12 April, 2023
basket, ball
Press Release
to read

UFAB 49 and Movistar Estudiantes join Regular Season field

MUNICH (Germany) - Two teams that were initially set to compete in the Conference 2 Qualifiers, France's UFAB 49 and Spain's Movistar Estudiantes, have gained a direct berth in the 2022-23 Regular Season of the EuroCup Women.

FIBA Europe announced the modification after Virtus Segafredo Bologna were awarded a direct berth in the EuroLeague Women Regular Season, following the withdrawal of TTT Riga from the competition.

Virtus were set to take part in the Qualifiers of the EuroLeague Women and the promotion of the Italian club means that only five, as opposed to six, clubs will join the EuroCup Women Regular Season from those Qualifiers.

With UFAB 49 and Movistar Estudiantes gaining a Regular Season berth, there are eight clubs taking part in the Conference 2 Qualifiers:

Basket Lattes Montpellier (FRA)
Lointek Gernika Bizkaia (ESP)
Banco di Sardegna Sassari (ITA)
Phantoms Basket Boom (BEL)
House of Talents Spurs (BEL)
Sportiva Azoris Hotels (POR)
BBC Grengewald Hueschtert (LUX)
ZKK Plamen Pozega (CRO)

The four clubs with the highest number of accumulated points during the three-year ranking will be seeded. They will then be drawn against the four unseeded clubs and play the return leg of the home and away series at home The winners will progress to the Regular Season.

The Draw will take place in Munich, Germany on Friday 15th July 2022 and more details about the participating clubs and the qualification system can be found here.


About EuroCup Women
EuroCup Women is the second-tier women's club competition in Europe, with teams from across the continent competing in the 2022-23 campaign.

For further information about EuroCup Women, visit EuroCupWomen.basketball or follow us on twitter.com/EuroCupWomen, instagram.com/EuroCupWomen, and youtube.com/FIBA.