MIES (Switzerland) - Experts analyze all Basketball Champions League, powered by Ameresco SUNEL games each week. In order to improve the understanding of referees' decisions and to increase transparency, we publish some of those Tough Calls, along with an explanation.
TC1: Bnei Penlink Herzliya vs. Trapani Shark - Goaltending
Red #0’s shot is blocked by White #44. The referees do not call any violation.
Article 31.2.1: Goaltending occurs during a shot for a goal when a player touches the ball while it is completely above the level of the ring and:
It is on its downward flight to the basket, or
After it has touched the backboard.
Outcome: Incorrect decision by the referees. The ball was completely above the level of the ring and, had already touched the backboard, when it was blocked. Two points should have been awarded to Red #0.
TC2: Tofas Bursa vs. La Laguna Tenerife - Personal Foul
Green #21 starts a transition and Yellow #31 creates an illegal contact, which is called as a personal foul by the referees.
Article 37.1.1: An unsportsmanlike foul is a player contact which is:
An unnecessary contact caused by the defensive player in order to stop the progress of the offensive team in transition. This applies until the offensive player starts the act of shooting.
An illegal contact caused by a player from behind or laterally on an opponent, who is progressing towards the opponent’s basket and with no opponents between the progressing player and the basket, and - the progressing player is in control of the ball, or - the progressing player is attempting to gain control of the ball, or - the ball has been released on a pass to the progressing player.
This applies until the offensive player starts the act of shooting.
Outcome: Correct decision by the referees.
The contact did not meet any criteria to be considered an unsportsmanlike foul. On one side, Yellow #31 played the ball in a normal basketball defensive movement, trying to reach out for the ball, which moved away from the point of contact due to the dribbler’s cross-over.
On the other side, there was another player from the Yellow team between the player with the ball and the Yellow team basket. Personal foul.
TC3: Unicaja vs. Filou Oostende - Blocking Foul
Yellow #4 receives the ball and drives to the basket. A contact with Green #33 occurs and the Lead referee first calls an offensive foul to Yellow #4.
After a brief discussion, the referees decide that the contact occurred after the ball had been released for the shot, and therefore award two points to Yellow #4 and a throw-in for the Green team.
Article 33.6: A player who has jumped into the air from a place on the court has the right to land again at the same place. He has the right to land on another place on the court provided that the landing place and the direct path between the take-off and landing place is not already occupied by an opponent(s) at the time of take-off.
Article 15.1.3: The act of shooting in a continuous movement on a drive to the basket or other moving shot ends when the ball has left the player’s hand(s) and, in case of an airborne shooter, both feet have returned to the floor.
Outcome: Incorrect decision by the referee.
Green #33 was still moving after Yellow #4 left the floor for the lay-up and he occupied a landing spot that was free when Yellow #4 took-off. This is a blocking foul.
Yellow #4 should have been awarded two points and one free throw, as he had not ended his act of shooting; he had not returned to the floor with both feet.
TC4: Elan Chalon vs. Sabah BC - Illegal Screen
Red #2 sets a screen for his teammate Red #1 and a contact with White #13 occurs. The referee calls an offensive foul to Red #2.
Article 33.7: Illegal screening is when the player who is screening an opponent:
Was moving when contact occurred.
Did not give sufficient distance in setting a screen outside the field of vision of a stationary opponent when contact occurred.
Did not respect the elements of time and distance of an opponent in motion when contact occurred.
Outcome: Correct decision by the referee. Red #2 was still moving, and did not give sufficient distance, in setting the screen outside the field of vision of White #13. This is an illegal screen.