11 October, 2022
27 November

Competition System

A total of fourteen (14) teams will participate in the 2022 Basketball Africa League qualifying tournament (Road to BAL).

The Group Phase will take place from October 12 to 30, 2022.


Group Phase
The fourteen (14) registered teams will be divided into four groups of 3 to 4 teams.
The West Division comprise of Groups A, B and East Division will comprise of Groups C, D.
Each team will play one game against the other team in their group.

The two (2) teams that finish in the top two places of each group will qualify for Elite 16 Round.
Additionally, one (1) team and seven (7) others teams who have played last edition of BAL and who are champions in their contries will be awarded to complete the Elite 16 Round.
Below is the composition of the groups:


 Four (4) cities: Niamey (Niger), Yaounde (Cameroon), Dar Es Salam (Tanzania) and Antananarivo  (Madagascar) will host the Group Phase.

Elite 16 Round
These 16 teams will be divided into two (2) groups (E and F) of eight (8) teams each.

Elite 16 Round will take place from 14-19 November (Group E) and 22-27 November (Group F).
The teams that finish in the top three places of Groups E and F will qualify for the Final Phase of Basketball Africa league.
These six teams will join the six automatically-qualified teams from Angola, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia and Rwanda.