01 November, 2017
01 February, 2019
6 Mohamed Kawaid (BRN), 8 Ahmed Ismaeel (BRN)
to read

Eight teams qualify to complete FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Pre-Qualifier cast

BEIRUT (FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Pre-Qualifier)  - The Pre-Qualifiers for the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 across three sub-zones have concluded, resulting in 8 qualified teams advancing to the next round – 4 from SEABA sub-zone, 2 from SABA sub-zone, and 2 from GBA Sub-zone.

 Malaysia (2-3) secured the final qualifying spot of the SEABA with an 86-50 win over Brunei Darussalam in the final day of the Pre-Qualifying tournament. Champions Indonesia (5-0), Thailand (4-1), and Singapore (3-2) had already succeeded to claim their berths in the previous days.

In the SABA sub-zone, Sri Lanka (4-0) swept through the competition to claim the top spot in the tournament winning each game by double-digits. They will be joined in the next round of qualification by Bangladesh who secured their spot with a 74-57 win over Maldives in the final day.

The GBA sub-zone completed the second round of their Pre-Qualifier with Bahrain (5-1) on top. The second qualifying spot went to the hands of Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (4-2) in dramatic fashion, after they were able to beat UAE (3-3) 88-85 in the final game in Dubai.

 These eight teams will join the four teams that directly qualified for the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Pre-Qualifiers: Guam (Oceania), Fiji (Oceania), Palestine (WABA), and Macau (EABA).