Follow FIBA on Facebook

06 - 21
August 2016
Excitement builds for Friday's Olympic draw at House of Basketball
to read

Excitement builds for Friday's Rio 2016 Olympic Basketball Tournaments draw ceremony at FIBA Headquarters

MIES (2016 Rio Olympics) - Another major step on the road to the Rio 2016 Olympic Games will be taken on Friday when the draw ceremony for the Olympic Basketball Tournaments (for Men and Women) is held at FIBA's headquarters in Mies, Switzerland.

The event will take place at the House of Basketball and can be watched live on youtube.com/FIBA at 15:30 local/CET time.

Brazil, the USA, Argentina, Australia, China, Lithuania, Nigeria, Spain and Venezuela are the nine men's national teams that already have spots in the tournament field at the Summer Games.

The seven national sides with places in the women's tournament are Brazil, the USA, Australia, Canada, Japan, Senegal and Serbia.

There will be players, coaches and fans of 30 other national squads keeping a close eye on events Friday as they will be hoping to take part in the Rio de Janeiro Games, too.

There will be a 12-team women's FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Nantes, France (13-19 June) with five berths to Brazil up for grabs. Argentina, Belarus, Cameroon, China, Cuba, France, Korea, New Zealand, Nigeria, Spain, Turkey and Venezuela are the teams taking part.

The winners of the three six-team men's FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments (OQTs) will also advance to Brazil. Taking part in the Turin OQT are Greece, Iran, Mexico, Croatia, hosts Italy and Tunisia, while in the Belgrade OQT are Angola, Puerto Rico, hosts Serbia, the Czech Republic, Japan and Latvia. Those OQTs will run from 4-9 July. The Manila OQT is to be staged 5-10 July and will have Canada, Senegal, Turkey, France, New Zealand and the hosts, the Philippines.

Click here for all the latest news about the Rio 2016 Olympic Basketball Tournament and here for the Rio 2016 Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament.