Follow FIBA on Facebook

17 February, 2020
23 February, 2021
3 Goran Dragic (SLO), 4 Pau Gasol (ESP)
to read

Fans to vote for ultimate EuroBasket Dream Team

MUNICH (Germany) - The FIBA EuroBasket Dream Teams series is coming to a close following a look back over the past three months on some of the competition's biggest stars in history.

15 different nations were featured as well as a 'Rest of Europe' special with unique editorial content including reflective interviews and quizzes and giving fans the chance to vote for their favored lineups of each country.

Dynamic duo Goran Dragic and Luka Doncic were locks amongst the fans' dream five for reigning EuroBasket champions Slovenia with Dragic recalling the golden summer of 2017.

Dirk Nowitzki, of course spearheaded Germany's five in topping the votes, while brothers Pau and Marc Gasol were locks for three-time winners, Spain.

The weekly vote attracted plenty of support with Serbia (15,310 votes), Greece (13,444) and Lithuania (12,037) receiving the most traction as their fans voted in their tens of thousands.

Here is a breakdown of each country's starting lineup, as per the fans voting:

Country Lineup
Croatia Mulaomerovic - Giricek - Bogdanovic - Saric - Vujcic
Turkey Tunceri - Kutluay - Turkoglu - Ilyasova - Okur
Russia Holden - Shved - Kirilenko - Khryapa - Mozgov
France Parker - De Colo - Batum - Diaw - Gobert
Serbia Teodosic - Bogdanovic - Bodiroga - Stojakovic - Rebraca
Italy Pozzecco - Belinelli - Meneghin - Gallinari - Galanda
Lithuania Jasikevicius - Macijauskas - Siskauskas - Kleiza - Valanciunas
Czech Republic Satoransky - Welsch - Barton - Vesely - Zidek
Greece Papaloukas - Spanoulis - Diamantidis - Printezis - Giannis Antetokounmpo
Latvia Strelnieks - Bagatskis - Timma - Davis Bertans - Porzingis
Spain Rubio - Navarro - Fernandez - P Gasol - M Gasol
Georgia Dixon - Markoishvili - Sanikidze - Shengelia - Pachulia
Slovenia G Dragic - Doncic - Nachbar - Lorbek - Nesterovic
Israel Tapiro - Burstein - Pnini - Cassipi - Eliyahu
Germany Schroder - Schaffartzik - Benzing - Okulaja - Nowitzki
Rest of Europe McCalebb - Stefansson - Hanga - Teletovic - Antic

There will be two more chances for fans to have their say as the ultimate FIBA EuroBasket Dream Team 2000-20 is decided, with one for the backcourt and one for the frontcourt.

A total of 24 players are on the shortlist for selection based on their sporting criteria with a spot on any EuroBasket All-Star Five and won a medal in the competition in the past 20 years.

You can vote for your favorite FIBA EuroBasket guards from July 27 to August 2, while the voting featuring the top forwards and centers will commence the following week, on August 3, and will run until August 9.