22 June, 2016
02 July
to read

U17 Women hosts set out plans

ZARAGOZA (2016 FIBA U17 Women's World Championship) - Spain have announced an initial 14-player roster as they prepare to host next month's 2016 FIBA U17 Women's World Championship in Zaragoza.

    Spain 14-player squad for 2016 FIBA U17 Women's World Championship
Andrea Alcantra Aina Ayuso Paula Charro Sofia Galeron
Paloma Gonzalez Ainhoa Lacorzana Irene Medel  Olatz Pino
 Dolares Pendande  Alba Prieto  Lucia Rodriguez  Natalia Rodriguez
 Silvia Serrat  Aixa Wone    

There was mixed news for head coach Victor Lapena, who is going to have to deal with the absence of the highly-rated Iris Junio who is ruled out through injury - although the play-caller will be hoping that other players can make up for that setback.

There are a number of new faces in the mix in the wake of a mediocre display at the 2015 U16 European Women's Championship which witnessed Spain miss the podium for only the second time in 12 years.

The main returnees from Matosinhos are guard duo Natalia Rodriguez and Paloma Gonzalez, along with leading scorer and three-point specialist Aina Ayuso.

Meanwhile Sofia Galeron was the one player who truly found her range last year after shooting 52 percent - as well as leading the way on the glass.

Coach Lapena brings plenty of experience having temporarily held the reins of the senior Spanish side in last November's FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017 qualifying window.

He will look to solve the issue of offence which affected his predecessor Andreu Bou when he presided over the team in Portugal last year. For no player managed to average double-digits and Spain averaged less than 60 points per game.

Spain may need to produce something special if they want to continue their fine record at the FIBA U17 Women's World Championship which sees them head into the fourth edition searching for a third successive Final appearance.

Prior to tipping off their Group D campaign against PortugalMali and Brazil, Lapena and his team will play preparation games against Portugal, Italy, Argentina and Canada in Zaragoza, ahead of the tournament proper commencing on 22 June.