22 June, 2016
02 July

Competition System

Group Phase (22-25 June)
The sixteen (16) participating teams are divided into four (4) groups (A, B, C, and D) of four (4) teams each. Each team will play against all other teams in its own group (a total of 3 games for each team). Rest days: Thursday 23 June for teams in Groups C and D; Friday 24 June for teams in Groups A and B; Sunday 26 June for all teams/groups.

Final Phase (27 June-2 July)
All teams qualify for the Round of 16, where they will cross between Groups A and B and C and D (A1 v B4, A2 v B3, etc.). The winners of the Round of 16 games advance to the Quarter-Finals, while the losers move on to the Classification Games for Places 9-16. Rest days: Tuesday 28 June for Round of 16 winners; Thursday 30 June for Quarter-Finals winners and teams playing Classification 9-16; Friday 1 July for teams playing Classification 5-8.