02 - 10
July 2022


The draw ceremony for the FIBA U17 Basketball World Cup 2022 will take place on Thursday, March 17, 2022 in Malaga, Spain.

The 16 teams participating in the fifth edition of the FIBA U17 Basketball World Cup are: 

Host country: Spain
Africa: Egypt, Mali
Americas: USA, Canada, Dominican Republic, Argentina
Asia & Oceania*: 4 team qualified via FIBA U16 Asian Championship 2022
Europe: France, Lithuania, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia

* Asia & Oceania teams will be confirmed after the FIBA U16 Asian Championship in June 2022


  • The participating teams have been distributed in four pots based on the quality and geographical principles with a maximum of 2 European Teams to be drawn in the same group.

Pot 1:  Usa, Argentina, Spain, France

Pot 2: Lithuania, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia

Pot 3: Asia 1, Asia 2, Asia 3, Asia 4

Pot 4: Canada, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Mali

  • By the draw, the teams from each pot will be distributed in four groups and at the same time they will be assigned the competition numbers.
  • Teams from the same continent/region should be equally distributed across the groups.
  • A straight draw will be applied with the following exceptions:
    • In pot 1, Spain will be drawn in Group A or B, playing in Alhaurin de la Torre, and USA in Group C or D, playing in Marbella.
    • In pot 4, the two teams from Americas cannot be drawn in the groups which already have a team from that continent.