05 November, 2023
10 February, 2025
Iconic Peace and Friendship Stadium to host Final Phase of FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2025
Press Release
to read

FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2025 champions to be crowned at iconic Peace and Friendship Stadium

MIES (Switzerland) - The iconic Peace and Friendship Stadium in Piraeus has been officially named as the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2025 venue in Greece.

Home to some of the most passionate basketball fans in Europe, the port city of Piraeus will serve as the backdrop for the Final Phase of the competition in addition to hosting one of the four groups.

Steeped in history and renowned for hosting top level events across different sports, the 11,847-seat Peace and Friendship Stadium will add to its legacy by welcoming the FIBA Women's EuroBasket for the first time, having also been confirmed to host one of the four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments in 2024.

The announcement of Piraeus as the host city for FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2025 coincides with the visit of the President of the Hellenic Republic, Katerina Sakellaropoulou, and Hellenic Basketball Federation President Vaggelis Liolios to the House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland, where they met with FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis. 

The only previous time the FIBA Women's EuroBasket was hosted in Greece was in 2003, when the event took place in the cities of Amaliada, Patras and Pyrgos.

"The growth of the popularity of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket, and women's basketball in Europe at large, has been unprecedented in recent years and we're thrilled to be able to bring our flagship event to the historic Peace and Friendship Stadium," said FIBA Executive Director Europe Kamil Novak.

"The selection of Piraeus as one of the host cities, alongside the newly introduced multi-country hosting format gives the competition and our athletes a perfect platform to continue expanding the reach and impact of women's basketball in Europe."

The next edition of Europe's flagship women's basketball competition marks a historic milestone as the first ever to be organized across four nations, with Czechia, Germany, Greece and Italy confirmed as co-hosts earlier this year.

Brno in Czechia, Bologna in Italy, and Hamburg in Germany will join Piraeus as the four host cities for FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2025.

The 16-team event is set to take place from June 18-29, 2025, with all four hosts qualified automatically.

The remaining 32 teams participating in the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2025 Qualifiers, which tipped off earlier this year, will battle it out for the last 12 spots at the Final Round across three windows between November 2023 and February 2025.


About FIBA 
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball, is an independent association formed by 212 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fiba,  instagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.