07 November, 2021
13 February, 2023
to read

Seedings announced for FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023 Qualifiers

MUNICH (Germany) - The seedings for the draw of the FIBA Women’s EuroBasket 2023 Qualifiers were announced on Tuesday, and the 38 national teams that will take part are set to find out their opponents on Friday.

The draw will be streamed live on the official FIBA YouTube channel on Friday, August 20, 2021, starting at 11:00 CET.

The 38 countries that registered to participate will be drawn into 10 groups, with each team playing the others in its group in home and away games, following a round-robin system.

Eight of the groups will be comprised of four teams each, while the remaining two - Group E and Group J - will include three teams each. The two co-hosts, Israel and Slovenia, will also take part in the Qualifiers.

The teams are ranked in eight seeds according to the FIBA World Ranking Women, presented by Nike. Seeds 1, 4, 5 and 8 will be drawn into groups A, B, C, D and E. Seeds 2, 3, 6 and 7 will be drawn into groups F, G, H, I and J.

The seedings are as follows: 

Seed 1: Spain; France; Belgium; Serbia; Turkey
Seed 2: Belarus; Russia; Italy; Greece; Sweden
Seed 3: Montenegro; Great Britain; Czech Republic; Slovakia; Latvia
Seed 4: Slovenia; Ukraine; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Hungary; Croatia
Seed 5: Lithuania; Poland; Germany; Bulgaria; Romania
Seed 6: Netherlands; Israel; Portugal; Luxembourg; Denmark
Seed 7: Switzerland; Ireland; Austria; Estonia
Seed 8: Finland; Iceland; North Macedonia; Albania

The 10 group winners and the four best second-placed teams will advance to the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023. In order to determine the best second-placed teams, the results against the fourth-placed teams in the groups of four will be disregarded, so as to compare the teams on a like-for-like basis.

In case one or both of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023 hosts finish among the 14 spots that qualify for the event, then the next best second-placed team(s) will also qualify.

The Qualifiers will be played over three windows on November 11-14, 2021, November 24-27, 2022, and February 24-27, 2023.


About FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023
FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023 marks the 39th edition of the continental showpiece event and will see 16 teams fight for the coveted title. The event is set to take place Israel and Slovenia.
For further information, visit the official website or follow FIBA Women's EuroBasket on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube.

About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 212 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.