15 - 25
June 2023
11 Emma Meesseman (BEL)
Press Release
to read

Belgium make history with maiden FIBA Women's EuroBasket title

LJUBLJANA (Slovenia) - Belgium celebrated a historic maiden FIBA Women's EuroBasket title with victory over four-time tournament winners Spain in Sunday's Final.

The Belgian Cats overturned a 10-point deficit with a strong finish in the final quarter to secure a 64-58 triumph. Kyara Linskens recorded an impressive double-double of 18 points and 15 rebounds, while Emma Meesseman posted 24 points, 8 rebounds and 5 steals.

Belgium were competing in the Final for the first time in their history and finished the 2023 edition with a perfect six wins from six to become the 12th different winner of the competition.

Meanwhile, Spain had to settle for a silver medal with their record in FIBA Women's EuroBasket Finals now standing at four wins from six.

Meesseman was monumental in the Belgian Cats triumph and was voted as the TISSOT Most Valuable Player with a tournament best of 21.7 points per game along with 8.7 rebounds, 5.2 assists and 4.3 steals.

Fellow teammates Julie Allemand and Julie Vanloo joined Meesseman in the TISSOT All-Star Five along with Spain's Alba Torrens and Sandrine Gruda of France.

In the Third Place Game, France secured the bronze medal with an 82-68 victory over Hungary to finish on the podium for an eighth successive FIBA Women's EuroBasket.

The top five teams - Belgium, Spain, Hungary, Serbia and Germany - plus Paris 2024 hosts France qualified for the FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments.

The final standings of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023 are as follows:

1. Belgium
2. Spain
3. France
4. Hungary
5. Serbia
6. Germany
7. Czech Republic
8. Montenegro
9. Italy
10. Great Britain
11. Greece
12. Slovakia
13. Latvia
14. Turkey
15. Slovenia
16. Israel


About FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023
FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2023 will mark the 39th edition of the continental showpiece event, and will see 16 teams fight for the coveted title. The event will be co-hosted by Slovenia and Israel.
For further information, visit the official website or follow FIBA Women's EuroBasket on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube