17 - 27
June 2021
FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021 field confirmed
Press Release
to read

Seedings, partner federations confirmed for FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021 Draw

MUNICH (Germany) - The seedings and the partner federations of the hosts have been confirmed ahead of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021 Draw, which will take place at the Santiago Grisolia Auditorium in the City of Arts and Sciences in Valencia, Spain on March 8, 2021.

The 16 qualified teams were seeded based on their performance at the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 and the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021 Qualifiers in equal parts.

In instances of teams with the same average ranking, the final position at the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 served as a tie-breaker.

The seedings are as follows:

The participating teams will be drawn into four groups of four teams each. 

FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021 hosts France and Spain had the right to choose a partner federation, which will play in the respective country.

After being selected by France, Belgium will be drawn to one of the groups in Strasbourg, but cannot go in the same group as France as both countries have the same seed.

Meanwhile, Spain have chosen Slovakia as its partner; both teams will drawn in the same group in Valencia.

The draw will take place at the Santiago Grisolia Auditorium in the City of Arts and Sciences at 12:00 CET on Monday, March 8, 2021 and can be followed live on the FIBA YouTube channel and the FIBA Women's EuroBasket Facebook page.

Former national team players Anna Montanana and Cathy Melain will assist with the drawing of the groups, representing both of the co-hosts, while Spain legend Amaya Valdemoro will be one of the presenters.

The FIBA Women's EuroBasket will take place from June 17-27, 2021, with the Group Phase, Qualification for the Quarter-Finals and the corresponding Quarter-Finals taking place in Strasbourg and Valencia and the competition concluding with the Final Phase in Valencia.


About FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021
FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021 marks the 38th edition of the continental showpiece event, and will see 16 teams fight for the coveted title. The event is set to take place from June 17-27, 2021 in Strasbourg, France and Valencia, Spain.
For further information, visit the official website or follow FIBA Women's EuroBasket on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube.

About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.