26 June, 2023
02 July
Press Release
to read

Stage set in Sydney as FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2023 rosters confirmed

SYDNEY (Australia) - The final rosters of the eight participating nations at the prestigious FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2023 are now known on the eve of the curtain being raised in Sydney, Australia.

The reigning champions Japan, who won have won the last five editions of the competition, will be looking to go six in a row .as the rest of the field sets to stop them in that quest. Everyone has the chance to finish as the last team standing and lift the coveted trophy at the Quaycentr eon Sunday, July 2.

Click on the countries team page below to see the rosters:

Group A: China, Korea, New Zealand, Lebanon
Group B: Australia, Japan, Chinese Taipei, Philippines

The 30th edition of the tournament will see Group phase action take place on three consecutive days from Monday June 26 to Wednesday June 28, with the 8 nations split into two pools. Each group winner will earn a direct place in the Semi-Finals, while on Friday June 30, the other two Semi-Finalists will be determined via the Qualification to the Semi-Finals Round. 

When the  top four teams in the competition are confirmed, they will be able to celebrate punching a ticket for the FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments next year and taking a major step on the road towards Paris 2024.

The winners of the  FIBA Women's Asia Cup  2023 will be crowned champions on Sunday July 02, while the last placed nation at the event will be relegated to Division B for the 2023 edition. 

The full competition system is explained here.


About the FIBA Women's Asia Cup 

The FIBA Women's Asia Cup is the premier women's national team basketball competition that brings together the best teams from the Asia/Oceania region. The 30th edition of the FIBA Women's Asia Cup will take place in Sydney, Australia from June 26 - July 02  2023. The FIBA Women's Asia Cup Division B will take place in Bangkok, Thailand in August 2023.

The inaugural FIBA Women's Asia Cup took place in Seoul, Korea in 1965 with the hosts emerging as the first champions after beating rivals Japan in the Final. Altogether, Korea has won 12 of the 28 editions of the competition to date, with China accounting for further eleven title, and current reigning champions Japan six - including the last five in a row. 
Keep up to date on the official website and via FacebookInstagram, and Twitter - also by using  #AsiaCupWomen.