27 September, 2021
03 October

Road to #FIBAWWC 2022

The new Women's National Team Competition System came into effect in November 2019, setting out the road to all of FIBA's main women's competitions over a four-year cycle, including the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022.

National teams will qualify for the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup - FIBA's flagship women's competition - via four global FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022 Qualifying Tournaments in February 2022. The qualifying tournaments will feature a total of 16 teams, determined by their results in the four FIBA Women's Continental Cups 2021 as follow:

FIBA Women's AfroBasket 2021: Top 2 teams
FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2021: Top 4 teams
FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2021: Top 4 teams (including the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup Host 2022 Australia)
FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2021: Top 6 teams

The tournaments will feature four national teams each, with the top three from each qualifying for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2022 to complete the 12-team field for the main event.

The host of the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022, Australia, and the winner of the Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament taking place in Tokyo in 2021, will participate in those qualifiers, however, they do receive automatic qualification for the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2022.