22 - 30
September 2019
Press Release
to read

San Juan, Puerto Rico to host the FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2019

SAN JUAN (Puerto Rico) – The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) in the Americas confirmed San Juan, Puerto Rico as host city of the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019, the premier women’s basketball event in the continent.
The FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 will be played at the historic Roberto Clemente Coliseum on September 22-29 and will feature the participation of the National Teams of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Paraguay, USA and hosts Puerto Rico.

“San Juan is the perfect location for this very important zone championship, the AmeriCup.  This is the inaugural event for the new FIBA competition system for women.  Not only will a country be crowned AmeriCup Champion, but eight teams will also be identified to advance to the next step of the Olympic qualifying process.  We are grateful to the Puerto Rico Basketball Federation and the local organizing committee for their work to host an enjoyable tournament for the players and coaches,” said FIBA Americas President Carol Callan. 
The Official Draw of the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 will take place on July 22 at 12:00 (local time of Puerto Rico) and will be broadcasted live on FIBA’s YouTube and Social Media platforms.

The 2017 edition of the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup was held in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Canada finished the competition unbeaten to claim the championship for back-to-back continental titles. Nirra Fields was named MVP. Argentina came in second place and Puerto Rico won the bronze medal. 

International basketball stars past and present have graced the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup court such as Melisa Gretter (ARG), Hortencia Marcari (BRA), Magic Paula (BRA), Janeth Arcain (BRA), Erica de Souza (BRA), Nadia Colhado (BRA), Ziomara Morrison (CHI), Natalie Achonwa (CAN), Kia Nurse (CAN), Yamara Amargo (CUB), Simone Edwards (JAM), Carla Cortijo (PUR), Sue Bird (USA), Chamique Holdsclaw (USA), Lisa Leslie (USA), Diana Taurasi (USA). 
Past editions of the continental competition, previously known as the FIBA Americas Women’s Championship, have been hosted by Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, and Mexico. Puerto Rico will host the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup for the first time.
"Puerto Rico has shown great capability in hosting sports tournaments of importance and top quality. That was the case, with the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 Americas Qualifiers windows, the Centrobasket Women’s Championship, and now we take on the responsibility of being the hosts for the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup, to be held in September at the historic Coliseo Roberto Clemente in San Juan. This is the most important event of the Americas in 2019 and we are confident that this event will represent an economic and tourism boost for Puerto Rico, as the eyes of the continent are on our Island. We are working hard to ensure that this tournament is of the quality that not only our National Team deserves, but all those who will visit us during that week,” said the President of the Puerto Rican Basketball Federation (FBPUR) Yum Ramos.
"Sports gives us an opportunity to break down barriers and build a bright future. In San Juan, we have understood the importance, at a social and economic level, of hosting international events as important as the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup. As a woman and as Mayor, I know the importance of having role models in sports, so that our girls know that they can achieve any dream and face any challenge. For San Juan, it is an honor to open the doors of Puerto Rico to the Americas and once again be a meeting point for international basketball. We demonstrated once again that it could be done!" said the Mayor of San Juan Carmen Yulin Cruz.
As part of the Women's National Team Competition System, the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 will qualify the top 8 teams to the FIBA Women’s Olympic Pre-Qualifying Tournament in November.