22 - 30
September 2019
Press Release
to read

Draw results in for FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2019

SAN JUAN (Puerto Rico) – The draw ceremony for the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 took place on Tuesday at the historic Coliseo Roberto Clemente in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Present at the Draw were Mayor of San Juan Mrs. Carmen Yulin Cruz, Executive Director of FIBA Americas Mr. Carlos Alves, FIBA Americas Vice-President Ms. Michelle O'Keefe, FIBA Americas Past-President and current Treasurer Mr. Usie Richards, Puerto Rican National Basketball Federation President Mr. Yum Ramos, FIBA Hall of Famer Maria “Magic” Paula, and former Puerto Rican National Team players Carla Cortijo and Juanita Rivera.

FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 Draw Results
Group A: Dominican Republic, Cuba, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico
Group B: Argentina, Paraguay, Colombia, Brazil, USA

The FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 will be played September 22-29 and will feature the participation of the National Teams of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Paraguay, USA, and host Puerto Rico.

The continental competition will begin with a Group Phase, where teams play round-robin format for four days. The top two teams from each group advance to the Semi-Finals of the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019, where the top team of Group A will play the second team of Group B and the top team of Group B will play the second team of Group A. The winners of the Semi-Finals will go-on to play for the continental title on September 22.

The top eight teams of the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 will qualify to the FIBA Women’s Olympic Pre-Qualifying Tournaments 2019.