10 - 18
August 2019
21 Atonye Nyingifa (NGR)
Team Announcement
to read

Nigeria name final roster for #AfroBasketWomen 2019

DAKAR (Senegal) - Reiging champions Nigeria have announced the final roster of the 12 players that will be looking to defend their crown at the FIBA Women's AfroBasket that tips off on August 10-18 in the Senegalese capital. 

Eight players - including captain Elonu Adaora, who inspired D'Tigress to an eighth place finish at the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2018 in Spain, have returned for the Dakar showdown. 

Nigeria head coach Otis Hughley Jr has maintained this core team to try and build on that incredible performance that reminded many that D'Tigress mean business. 

Nigeria's final roster for FIBA Women's AfroBasket 2019
Evelyn Akhator  Promise Amukamara Aisha Balarabe Elo Edeferioka
Adaora Elonu Ifunanya Ibekwe Sarah Imovbioh Ezinne Kalu
Victoria Macaulay Jasmine Nwagei Atonye Nyingifa  Sarah Ogoke

Former captain Aisha Balabare, who made her FIBA Women's AfroBasket debut in 2005, will be featuring in her fourth edition and remains the most experienced player in this squad at this level. 

She along with Elonu, Evelyn Akhator, Ezinne Kalu, Sarah Ogoke and Atonye Nyingifa are the returnees from the 2017 squad that won the African title and will be digging deep to replicate that form that dispatched Senegal in the final and shocked the continent. 

The 12-nation continental tournament will be played at the magnificent newly constructed Dakar Arena with the top six teams earning a place to contest for places at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.  

As it stands, Nigeria are in Dakar to defend their crown - something they have done in the past - winning back-to-back titles in 2003 and 2005 and will be hoping to repeat the same feat. 

Nigeria open their title campaign against Tunisia in a Group B tie on Saturday at 10:00 GMT.