Follow FIBA on Facebook

10 - 18
August 2019
to read

Draw for Africa's pre-qualifiers for the 2020 Olympic Games set in Dakar

DAKAR (Senegal) - Following the conclusion of Friday's FIBA Women's AfroBasket action, six teams have qualified for the continent pre-qualifiers of the 2020 Olympic Qualifying Tournament.

And as a result, FIBA Africa will host the six-nation pre-qualifiers draw on Saturday in the Senegalese capital of Dakar, ahead of the biennial championship final between Nigeria and Senegal.

Teams qualified include, reigning champions Nigeria, Senegal, Mali, Mozambique, Angola and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The African pre-qualifiers for the Tokyo games will take place from November 14-17 at a country yet to  be determined.

And the teams that finish in the first two places in Africa will then advance to the 16-nation FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament (WOQT) where teams will be divided into four tournaments (groups) in February 2020. 

The top three teams from each of the three WOQTs will qualify for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. 

The pre-qualifiers for the Tokyo Games is part of a major FIBA's new qualifying system, which also changes the way of qualification for the next FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup.

Both the reigning Olympic champions USA and hosts Japan will take part in the new pre-olympic qualifiers.