Follow FIBA on Facebook

07 March
27 August, 2017
Celebration (Senegal)
to read

Draw for FIBA Women's AfroBasket 2017 set for May 27

ABIDJAN (FIBA Women's AfroBasket 2017) - The official draw for FIBA Women's AfroBasket 2017 will take place on Saturday May 27 in Mali's capital city of Bamako.

The draw will be held at 18:00 (GMT) at Hotel Sofitel l'Amitié of Bamako and broadcasted live on FIBA's Youtube Channel.

FIBA Women's AfroBasket, held every two years, is the continent's top women's basketball competition.

The tournament will take place from August 18-27 at the Palais des Sports Salamatou Maiga in Bamako. It serves as a qualifier for the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2018 in Spain.

It is the second time that Mali will stage the 12-team event. The West African country previously hosted it in 2011, when the home team finished third.

To date, 10 of the 12 teams that will compete at FIBA Women's AfroBasket 2017 are known. They are: Angola, Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire, Egypt, Guinea, Mali (hosts), Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal (defending champions) and Tunisia.

One more team will secure its ticket through the remaining qualifier (zone 4), with the final place to be determined through the allocation of a wild card.