30 August, 2018
04 September
Press Release
to read

Argentina claim historic South American Women's 2018 title in Tunja

TUNJA (FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019) – Argentina made history and took home the Gold Medal of the South American Women’s Championship 2018 for the first time in 70 years. Argentina broke Brazil’s streak of regional titles that began at the 1986 edition of the South American Women’s Championship. Melisa Gretter was named the MVP of the tournament.

Argentina won the 2018 edition of the South American Women’s Championship after defeating Brazil, 65-64 in an emotional and intense Final. It all came down to the final minutes of the game and with 16 seconds to play, Brazil had a 64-62 lead. Debora Gonzalez tied the score at 64 with 13 seconds left. Brazil couldn’t score, Gretter came away with the ball and was sent to the free-throw line after a foul. The Argentinian point guard scored one of the two. Brazil couldn’t score from half-court and the Argentinians celebrated the historic win.

Colombia stayed with the Bronze Medal after an 83-78 win over Paraguay. Colombia entered the last ten minutes of the game with a comfortable lead, but the Paraguayans started discounting from the difference. Colombia stayed calm and took the win, with Narlyn Mosquera leading the offensive for the host with 25 points.

Venezuela finished the South American Women’s Championship in 5th place following an 85-60 win over Ecuador.

Chile earned 7th place following an 80-70 win over Peru.

South American Women’s Championship 2018 Final Positions:
1. Argentina*
2. Brazil*
3. Colombia*
4. Paraguay*
5. Venezuela
6. Ecuador
7. Chile
8. Peru
*Qualified to the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019