06 - 21
August 2016
Press Release
to read

PR N°64 - Twelve countries from three continents confirm interest in hosting 2016 FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments

MIES, Switzerland (2016 FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments for Men and Women) - Twelve countries from three continents have expressed interest in hosting the four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments for Men and Women that will take place in June-July 2016.

France and Spain are the candidates to host the 12-team Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament (WOQT) running from 13-19 June, which has five places on offer for the Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

The 12 teams that qualified for the WOQT through the women's continental championships are: Argentina, Belarus, Cameroon, China, Cuba, France, Korea, New Zealand, Nigeria, Spain, Turkey and Venezuela.

On the men's side, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Iran, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Philippines, Serbia and Turkey are in the running to hold the three 6-team Olympic Qualifying Tournaments (OQTs) that will run over the course of six days during the week of 4-10 July. The winning team at each of the three events will qualify for the Men's Olympic Basketball Tournament.

The 15 teams that have already qualified for the three OQTs through the men's continental championships are: Angola, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Iran, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Senegal, Serbia and Tunisia

Three more will join them, depending on the selection of the hosts of the tournaments. If any of Czech Republic, Greece, Iran, Italy, Mexico, Philippines or Serbia are granted the hosting duties for an OQT, then the best non-qualified teams from the respective continent will be asked to express their interest in participating in the OQTs. Germany, Israel and Turkey can only participate in next year's Olympic qualifiers if they are granted the right to host one of the tournaments.

The main evaluation criteria taken into account by FIBA to determine the hosts of the 2016 Olympic Qualifying Tournaments are: 

  • Player welfare - best possible conditions for players
  • Stakeholder experience - first-class event for spectators, teams, media and broadcasters, commercial partners as well as all other stakeholders. This includes venues filled to capacity and the provision of appropriate promotional strategy to achieve this goal.
  • State-of-the-art facilities and infrastructure - FIBA aims at hosting events in high-level competition venues that meet or exceed its requirements.
  • Legacy - event must bring benefits for basketball in the country, prestige and credit to the host nation and FIBA, as well as being of support to the strategic ambitions of the entire basketball family.
  • Commercial model - the event must be based on sound commercial and promotional initiatives and be financially successful.

The deadline to submit candidature files is Wednesday 11 November, following which an evaluation of all bids will take place.


About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 215 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fiba, instagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.