13 - 19
June 2016


The 2016 FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament will be the third edition of the event played in a format which qualifies five teams to the Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament.

Like in 2012 (Ankara) and 2008 (Madrid), the rules are as follows: 12 teams do battle for the 5 remaining Olympic spots available.

In 2008, Belarus, Latvia, Czech Republic, Brazil and Spain were the ones who punched their tickets for the Beijing Games. The Spaniards, Belarusians and Czechs all went on to reach the Quarter-Finals in China.

In 2012, Turkey, Czech Republic, Croatia, Canada and France clinched the five berths for the London Games. The French went on a tremendous run in the British capital, getting all the way to the Final and finishing with a silver medal.

The 2016 WOQT will welcome four first-time participants in the shape of Cameroon, China, Nigeria and Venezuela. Of the 12 teams, Argentina, Cameroon and Venezuela are the ones chasing a first-ever Olympic berth.