29 June, 2021
04 July

How to qualify

As of 2020, qualification for the Olympic Games is through the FIBA Basketball World Cup.

Universality remains in place for the qualifying process to the Olympic Games, thereby ensuring that each continent is represented.

The FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 produced seven directly qualified teams for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and Japan received automatic qualification as the hosts of the event.  

The four remaining places in the 12-team Tokyo 2020 Olympic field are reserved for the winners of each of the four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments, now set to take place in 2021 as part of the updated FIBA Calendar.

The FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments will include the 16 best-placed non-qualified teams from the FIBA Basketball World Cup and two highest-ranked countries per region in the FIBA World Ranking, presented by NIKE.

The winner of each tournament will qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

Click here to view the full explanation of the Qualification System. 

Event Timeline

  • 29 Jun 21 Group Phase
  • 3 Jul 21 Semi-Finals
  • 4 Jul 21 Final