26 July, 2021
08 August
Behind the scenes
Press Release
to read

Stage set for FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments

MIES (Switzerland) - The final qualifying phase for the Tokyo 2020 Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament is ready for tip-off, as rosters of the participating national teams were finalized across the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2020.

Hosted in Ostend (Belgium), Bourges (France) and Belgrade (Serbia) the four tournaments will take place from February 6-9, qualifying a total of 10 teams to complete the 12-team field for the Olympics.

Two of the tournaments will be played in Belgrade, following the decision to relocate the FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament – Foshan, China to Serbia due to the coronavirus outbreak.

For more information about the respective tournaments, click below:

The 16 teams participating in the FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments were split into four groups of four teams, with the top three teams from each group set to advance to the Tokyo 2020 Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament. 

Both the USA, winners of the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2018, and Japan, the Olympic hosts, will play in the qualification tournaments but are guaranteed Tokyo 2020 berths regardless of their results.

If Japan or USA were to finish outside the top three, only the top two teams from the respective group would qualify for the Olympics. 

The 2020 Tokyo Women's Olympic Basketball Tournament will take place from July 27 - August 9, 2020.


About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.