13 Debora Sabrina Gonzalez (ARG)
to read

South American Women's Championship groups are solidified after draw

MIAMI (United States) - The FIBA ​​Americas Regional Office announced that the South American Women's Championship 2022 will be played at Arena La Pedrera and Estadio Ave Fénix in San Luis, Argentina, from August 1 to 6.

The official draw in Miami, USA announced which teams would play in Groups A and B during the tournament. The 8 qualified teams were divided into pairs in accordance to the FIBA Nike World Ranking.

Group A - Arena La Pedrera
1. Venezuela
2. Ecuador
3. Paraguay
4. Argentina

Group B - Estadio Ave Fénix
1. Brazil
2. Chile
3. Uruguay
4. Colombia

At the end of the Group Phase, the two best teams of each will advance to the Semi-Finals (1A vs. 2B and 1B vs. 2A). The four best teams will qualify for the FIBA  Women's AmeriCup 2023.

Argentina won the latest edition which was held in Tunja, Colombia in 2018. Brazil has been crowned champion in 34 editions since 1946.