10 Kamilla Soares (BRA)
to read

South American Women's Championship 2024 groups are defined

MIAMI (United States) – The official draw for the South American Women's Championship 2024 groups took place this Thursday at the Regional Office of FIBA in the Americas, in Miami.

Nine countries will participate in this edition of the tournament which will be played from August 31 to September 7, at the Centro de Deportes Colectivos in Santiago, Chile.

Due to pre-draw provisions, host Chile was automatically assigned to Group A in position A4, Paraguay was pre-assigned to Group B and Bolivia, as the only team without an official position in the women's ranking, was automatically assigned to Group A. The rest of the national teams were placed in pairs taking into account their position in the FIBA ​​Women's World Ranking. presented by Nike, then the members of each group and their spot were drawn for the match order.

These were the results of the draw:

Group A

1. Bolivia
2. Brazil
3. Uruguay
4. Chile
5. Argentina

Group B

1. Venezuela
2. Paraguay
3. Ecuador
4. Colombia

Each team will play a game against the rest of the members of its group. The best two from each group will advance to the Semi-Finals and will meet 1st A vs. 2nd B and 1st B vs. 2nd A. Those who finish third and fourth in each group will continue playing for the 5th-8th ranking positions. The team that finishes in fifth place in Group A will leave the competition after concluding the Group Stage.

The winners of the Semi-Finals will play for the gold medal and the losers for bronze. The three best teams of the South American Women's Championship will qualify for the FIBA ​​Women's AmeriCup 2025, along with Chile, which qualified as host of the continental tournament.

Brazil is the current champion of the South American Women's Championship, after being crowned in the 2022 edition that took place in San Luis, Argentina.