27 September, 2014
05 October
Press Release
to read

PR N°61 - USA retain title after beating Spain in Final of 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women

ISTANBUL (2014 FIBA World Championship for Women) - World champions USA retained their title after rolling to a 77-64 triumph against Spain in the Final of the 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women at Fenerbahce Arena in Istanbul on Sunday.

In doing so, the USA won their fourth world crown in the last five outings of the event.

They showcased their outstanding depth and talent from the outset, with Maya Moore scoring eight quick-fire points to carve out a double-digit lead at 15-5.

Spain trailed by 11 heading into the second quarter and the first-time finalists fell further behind as Moore kept her foot on the gas to score 16 points by the time the first-half had elapsed.

The Spaniards trailed 48-29 at halftime but fought back in the third quarter when Alba Torrens came to life with 10 points in the period.

The USA continued to engage cruise control as their depth in scoring and some terrific defense allowed them to head into the final quarter up 67-48.

Spain produced a late rally, holding their opponents to just 10 points over the closing 10 minutes to reduce the final margin and finish on a high note. Click here for the full game report.

Moore, who had 18 points, 4 rebounds, 2 assists and a steal in the Final, was rewarded for her impressive play in the tournament by receiving the Most Valuable Player awarded, presented by Tissot.

The 25-year-old headlined the All-Star Five which also included the Spanish pair of Alba Torrens and Sancho Lyttle, Australia's Penny Taylor and Moore's USA team-mate Brittney Griner.

Australia claimed third place after stunning Turkey with a spectacular start to secure a stunning 74-44 success against the local favourites. Click here for the full game report.

In the 5-8 Classification Games, Canada claimed fifth place with a 61-53 win over China, while France finished seventh after beating Serbia 88-74.

Final Standings of 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women:
1. USA
2. Spain
3. Australia
4. Turkey
5. Canada
6. China
7. France
8. Serbia
9. Czech Republic
10. Belarus
11. Brazil
12. Cuba
13. Korea
14. Japan
15. Mozambique
16. Angola


About the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Championship for Women

The 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women took place in Ankara and Istanbul, Turkey from 27 September to 5 October.

The FIBA World Championship for Women was first held in 1953 and is the biggest women's national team basketball competition.

Go to www.fiba.basketball/turkey2014 to find out more.