18 - 26
July 2015
2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship
Press Release
to read

PR N°3 - Draw results for 2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship

MIES, Switzerland (2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship) - The draw for the 2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship took place on Thursday at the House of Basketball, FIBA’s headquarters on the shores of Lake Geneva. The tournament will be played in Chekhov (Moscow Region), Russia from 18-26 July.

The 16 teams from across FIBA's five regions - Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania - were divided into four groups of four teams for the Group Phase, played in a standard round-robin format.

Group A: 1. Netherlands; 2. Russia; 3. ? Asia*; 4. Argentina.
Group B: 1. China; 2. Spain; 3. USA; 4. Egypt.
Group C: 1. Canada; 2. Belgium; 3. France; 4. Mali.
Group D: 1. Korea; 2. Australia; 3. Serbia; 4. Brazil
*A third team from Asia will be announced at a later stage to complete the field

The FIBA U19 World Championship is where the stars of tomorrow are born. The 10 editions of the tournament played to date helped kick-start the glittering international careers of World and Olympic champion Diana Taurasi (USA), World champions and Olympic medalists Lauren Jackson (Australia) and Janeth Arcain (Brazil), along with icons Celine Dumerc (France) and Lijie Miao (China). In more recent years, 2014 FIBA Women’s World Championship MVP Maya Moore of the USA and Australia's Liz Cambage made a name for themselves in the competition.

The USA have won the last five editions of the tournament, dating back to 2005.

Go to www.fiba.basketball/u19women for all the latest on the 2015 FIBA U19 Women's World Championship and click here for the competition system.

Media professionals who wish to apply for a media accreditation to this event, should register in the FIBA Media Portal. The application period will open on Monday 15 June and close on Friday 10 July.

All TV broadcasters interested in acquiring TV rights should contact tv@fiba.com. For further information, please contact accreditation@fiba.com.


About FIBA

FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 214 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.